Whatever PGA Rules, Jon Rahm’s Chip Still Kicked Ass
Jon Rahm won The Memorial on Sunday afternoon. That is a big win for the 25-year-old Spainard who became the number one player in the world overtaking Rory McIlroy. Rahm is on top of the golf game due to his consistency as a player. There is no question he is a favorite for one of the three majors on the schedule. Can you be the best without a major to your name? That is one for golf shows to debate all week. But Rahm netted his biggest PGA title to date with a win at The Memorial. He did not let a major-like Sunday course beat him and ended Ryan Palmer with the chip shot of the season thus far.
The shot of the tournament 😱
Jon Rahm leads by 4 at Jack’s Place ⛳️ pic.twitter.com/kVIMH7W5wY
— Golf Channel (@GolfChannel) July 19, 2020
Rahm moved his ball slightly and that led to a rules infraction which cost Rahm two strokes. He still won by three. Did it swing some bets? Of course, it did! Those who had the over on Rahm’s round were now winners, and those who bet on Palmer in the head-to-head were now winners. This will be something that golf people debate all week as well, but in the grand scheme of things, I’m not sure it is a huge deal. CBS’s cameras caught something, and by the letter of the law, the PGA shouldn’t have changed it but they did. Rahm didn’t know until after the tournament was over.
The discussion about Rahm and majors has been the composure side of things. But what it should be is he cannot seem to put four good rounds together. Rahm has posted some top-five and top 10 finishes yet he hasn’t played in a final group in a major nor gotten super close. Could this be the year? He might be my Masters pick.